Tired, emotional and ‘jet lagged’

It’s taken me a couple of days to get round to writing this as after my recent quick trip over to Ireland I’ve been feeling very much as the title suggests. The journey from home last Wednesday with my son and his dad started off well but went downhill at Manchester airport when the plane was delayed – it seemed that, for some reason, one of the runways had been closed and the plane coming in from Ireland was late landing, so with the turn round time our flight was an hour and a half late taking off and we were all feeling tired and fed-up before we’d even gone anywhere.  I was quite surprised though that even though all my information told me the flight time was an hour it was actually only thirty five minutes, which would have been a bonus, but the delayed take-off meant we missed the coach we wanted to get from Dublin airport and had to wait until 3.15pm for the next one. After a 3-hour journey on that we finally arrived at the family home nearly ten hours after we first set off from home in the morning, and with my son’s dad completely exhausted and looking not at all well.
The next few hours for me passed in a confused and rather bewildered blur – being welcomed into the family home by relatives who my son knew well but I had never ever met before, having a meal and being given endless mugs of tea, making friends with Trixie the adorable little family dog, being introduced first to Alice, the next-door neighbour, then to Paul, a guy who lived across the street, and being told that my son and I would be sleeping at his house that night, which I thought was totally weird though it was explained that the family home only had two bedrooms. My son’s dad took himself off to bed at 9pm as he was totally whacked out, then Paul came to take us over to his house about an hour later. I was so tired by then that I was almost asleep on my feet so he showed me to my room and I left him and my son watching tv.
The following morning I got up at 7.30 and thinking my son would have been sleeping on the settee in Paul’s living room I went to wake him up but he was nowhere to be seen – totally confused again, and hearing noises in the kitchen, I went to find Paul and he told me that my son was in a small bedroom just off the back corridor. Once he was awake and dressed we went back across the street to the family home where breakfast was waiting for us, then before long it was time to leave as we were getting the 9am coach back to the airport. My son’s dad was still in bed and saying goodbye to him was really emotional; he looked so frail, and as I hugged him I wished more than anything that I could take away his pain and get him well again. It took several minutes in the kitchen on my own before I felt ready to leave the house; my son was sitting on the front step, he didn’t say much but I knew he was feeling the same way as me.
The journey back home was, fortunately, much more straightforward than the previous day. A neighbour, Kathy, took us and Paul up to the bus stop in her car and Paul waited with us until the coach came. This one was from a different company and used a more direct route to the airport so the journey time was only two hours, though we had quite a bit of time to kill once we got there. The plane took off on time just before 2pm, our friend was waiting for us when we landed at Manchester, and with no delays on the motorway we were back home by 3.30pm. An hour later I was at work and as I went through my normal routine I found it hard to believe that only a few hours previously I’d been somewhere in the middle of southern Ireland.
It was the following day when the events of the previous two days caught up with me – the long and tiring journey on the first day, meeting several different people for the first time, sleeping in an unknown house, then saying goodbye to my son’s dad with the possibility of never seeing him alive again, and the journey back home, all condensed into a little over thirty hours -the whole experience had left me with a feeling of surrealism and confusion, as if I’d ‘time travelled’ and been somewhere but hadn’t, or maybe had an out-of-body experience, and the tiredness I felt was overwhelming. I know you can’t get jet lag from just a thirty minute flight but I really did feel totally wiped out. I’m hoping I can go back soon to see my son’s dad again while he’s still alive but if and when I do I’ll make sure I take more time off work – even just one more day would make a big difference.
ireland-oct-2016-016
Trixie
12 thoughts on “Tired, emotional and ‘jet lagged’

  1. That must have been so difficult and emotional for you Eunice. Those problems making a ten hour journey was awful enough.Then saying goodbye and not having time to catch your breath before having to go to work. It’s no wonder you felt the way you did. I really hope you are able to visit again. I’m not sure if you are self-employed or not but I’m certain an employer would give you some compassionate leave if you asked.

    I’ve read your post to Martyn and we are both thinking about you at this difficult time.

    Trixie is lovely, so much like Sophie and Poppie.

    Like

    1. Trixie is adorable Eileen, really affectionate and very playful. She’s three years old now, found as a stray pup possibly left behind by passing travellers. I know the family wouldn’t part with her but if they ever did then I’d have no hesitation in having her myself. My son’s dad likes dogs so at least she’ll be a bit of a distraction for him while he’s well enough.

      As for the work situation, I could have taken more time off if I’d wanted to but there were several reasons why I didn’t, the main one being that when the inevitable end comes I’ll need several days then so didn’t want to take more than I needed to now. Plus my son’s shift pattern only allowed him those two days without taking extra time which he didn’t want to do for the same reason, and as I’d never been over there before I wanted us all to go together.

      If the flight out hadn’t been delayed we would have been able to get the express coach at 1pm and would have been at the family home for just after 3pm – those three hours would have made all the difference and I would have had chance to take stock of the situation and meet people properly, as it was everything just seemed to hit me all at once. Thinking back now with a clear head, there were some quite amusing aspects to the whole experience, and although I didn’t get to see anything of the town I did manage to snatch a few photos from the plane and the coach so I’m going to put those in a couple of more light hearted posts on my other blog.

      Like

  2. Even though we don’t know you. That moved me close to tears. Life does seem to cycle from periods where everything conspires against you. I feel guilty that we have just enjoyed a joyful fortnight’s holiday with my daughter, little grandaughter and son in law. I am wishing you a return to a much better situation as soon as possible.Warmest regards.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind comment Dinkum. I’m glad you had a lovely holiday with your family – I hope wherever you went you had good weather 🙂

      The situation with my son’s dad will never get better and it’s now only a matter of time, but how much time we don’t know. At least now he’s back in the family home he will have someone looking after him properly – arrangements have been made for his medical care and he has support from Macmillan so I know he will be well cared for. At the moment it’s just a case of taking one day at a time but my one big wish is that he gets to see Christmas – I really hope he does.

      Like

  3. Thank you. I’ve often wondered what my blog readers think of the way I write my posts so that’s a really nice compliment 🙂

    It certainly was one heck of a trip and I’m just in the middle of writing a more light hearted account of it on my other blog so I hope you enjoy reading that when I’ve done it.

    Like

  4. It certainly was a bit of an emotional and physical roller coaster but my son and I achieved what we set out to do – get his dad home to his family – so the tiredness was all worth it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

