Oops!

At work today I was emptying the office waste paper bins, and under the bosses’ desk was the large tubular steel leg which supports the centre. The desk itself is part of a large unit and is rectangular where it meets the wall and circular at the other end; both bosses share it and the leg is supposed to support the centre of the rectangular part but it’s been loose for a while and often falls down. So not wanting to leave it lying on the floor I crawled under the desk, stood the leg upright and jammed it back into place There wasn’t much room under there for me to turn round though so I crawled out backwards, making sure I was out far enough not to bang my head as I got up – and when I looked up, standing behind me with rather a quizzical look on his face, was one of the bosses.
So did I feel silly? Not at all! I know this particular boss reasonably well as I clean his house every week, so I just told him that if he fixed the table leg properly I wouldn’t need to crawl under there every so often to put it back. Thinking about it, I suppose it’s not every day that a boss walks into his office and finds a small person in a turquoise tabard crawling out backwards from under his desk – he once told me, during a conversation ages ago, that he thinks I’m bonkers, so today has probably just confirmed it!
6 thoughts on “Oops!

  1. Nice of you to say so Eileen πŸ™‚ To be honest I never really think about how well I’m thought of when I’m at work, I’m only doing what I get paid to do, but I do know this particular boss is very happy with what I do. His house is currently up for sale and when he has a viewing booked he’ll text me the day before and ask me to go up and give things a quick clean and tidy before the estate agent takes the prospective buyers round. I don’t think he’d do that if he wasn’t happy with my work, even if he does think I’m bonkers πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. hahahaha. Maybe the boss will finally fix his desk, or get a new one without risk of crashing down on anyone. I think that’s cool the boss thinks your bonkers, a compliment to your uniqueness, Eunice. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Strange you should say that Susie. Back in the late 70s/early 80s, when I worked in an office properly, my colleagues used to call me Unique Eunice. They eventually dropped my name and for several years I was called, and would answer to, Unique. I didn’t mind as they meant it in the nicest way, but maybe even back then some people thought I was ever so slightly bonkers πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. In the past I have found it quite useful when people think you’re (harmlessly) bonkers . . . You can get away with all sorts!!

    BTW, very sorry to have been AWOL from this blog for a while – lost the link. You’ve been through so much recently, especially in respect of Michael’s Dad – I hope that going forwards into 2017 life will be much kinder to you both.

    Like

  5. Thank you Jayne. I have to confess that up to recently I’ve been AWOL from your blog too, but only because I’ve had so much to deal with over the last three months.

    Years ago my hubby at the time used to say I was ‘kooky’ because of my bubbly and witty personality and the ability to laugh at myself if I did something daft, so being bonkers probably goes with the personality. As I’ve often said – I’d rather be mad and happy than totally sane and miserable! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

