I try to fix one thing….

And end up messing up several others.
Last night I noticed that my post about Bolton Abbey, which I’d only written that morning, had one glaring fault – the caption under one of the photos had somehow come out in a different font to all the others. Now it may very well not have been noticeable to anyone else, and if it was maybe no-one would have cared anyway, but it was noticeable to me and it was bugging me. It just looked so completely wrong that I had to do something about it, so I set about amending the post – except things weren’t quite as easy as they should have been.
In theory it should only have been a matter of deleting the wrong caption under the photo, selecting the correct font and retyping the wording, but every time I tried it either reverted back to the wrong font or separated the caption box from the photo it belonged to, and trying to join the caption box back to the photo resulted in the photo being deleted completely. After several attempts to get things right I ended up with more things wrong – the wrong font underneath two more photos, blank caption boxes all over the place and some photos deleted – and after persevering for two hours I was ready for throwing the pc through the nearest window.
Now I must admit that when I started this blog last October I didn’t particularly like the WordPress system, and I still don’t. It’s so much different to Blogger which I use for my camping blog, and I’ve found that in comparison some of the features aren’t as easy to use – and it also seems that certain errors aren’t all that easy to rectify.
So this morning I made another attempt at amending the Bolton Abbey post and yet again WordPress wasn’t playing ball so there was only one thing I could do before I lost my sanity – delete the whole post and start again from scratch. Needless to say I scrutinised everything carefully as I went along and checked it all three times before I hit ‘publish’ and this time everything is as it should be. Unfortunately though, deleting the original post has also deleted any comments that were made on it – so if you’ve read the new post and had that feeling of deja vu, or you’re wondering where your comment went, then I can only apologise for any confusion. Hopefully it won’t happen again – and if it does, don’t blame me, blame WordPress!
22 thoughts on “I try to fix one thing….

  1. Well that explains why I got the email notification for your Bolton Abbey post again in Bloglovin 🙂 You are like me in that I would have to correct that difference too, although I hadn’t noticed the different font on your original post! Sometimes I will edit a post after comments have been published if I think I should change a word here or there, I am not as good a writer as you are though, words don’t flow as easily for me these days. I have only ever used Blogger and I wouldn’t have your patience with WordPress. I stopped putting captions underneath photos a long time ago as I think they are used for Google searches. I am happier to have fewer readers who I “know” although I’m well aware the blog is on internet for all to see, well that’s me anyway 🙂

    Like

    1. After I’d re-written the post I sent the original one to ‘trash’ and the comments on it stayed, but the link for ‘previous post’ at the bottom of the new post sent readers to a blank page and an ‘oops’ message instead of the post about the mouse – I didn’t want that so I had no option but to delete the original post completely and the comments with it. When it comes to writing my blogs I’m somewhat of a perfectionist so if I think something isn’t right, even though it may be okay to everyone else, I’ve just got to change it – if I don’t it’ll bug me for ages until I do. 🙂

      Like

  2. {smile}, yes I would have had to correct that one. And all the problems you desribe are why I am never moving to WordPress. Had a look at it years back when I was far more enthusiastic about blogging and decided that it requird far too much input and messing around.

    Have been using Blogger for so long now that going into the HTML screen and sorting the formatting out now feels very simple (and means I can have the pictures left-aligned with no margin and no text floating around them, nice and plain, just how I like it!)

    I realise that clever people, purists and serious bloggers all use WP . . . many congratulations to them, and you for whipping this into shape 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jayne 🙂

      To be honest, if I’d had a choice I would have stuck with Blogger and I did originally start this blog using it but it would only set my profile as my original one on my camping blog, and as this blog has nothing to do with camping I didn’t want that so I had to change to WordPress to get a different profile. This is just a basic layout and 90% of the time it works fine but I still prefer Blogger 🙂

      Like

  3. All is explained! I hadn’t noticed the error but I too change mistakes I notice after posts are published. It just feels wrong not to, somehow. I started my blogging life in Blogger too and much prefer WordPress so it takes all sorts!

    Like

    1. Horses for courses I suppose Anabel, it wouldn’t do for us all to like the same thing. Maybe if I’d used WordPress when I started my camping blog a few years ago I wouldn’t find it so hard to use now, however I will persevere even if it kills me! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You are not alone. I had commented, saying that we had friends of friends near to Bolton Abbey and having read your post, we would now be visiting the area. I have also had issues when modifying posts. If I replace an image in the Update mode, the picture then loses it’s ability to be zoomed in on. My recent post lost the chance to see a Ghostly image at a window. A rare event LOL annoying!

    Like

    1. Yes, I did see your comment and I replied – and I’m glad I’m not alone in having problems. I’m going to pop over to your blog now and look for a ghostly image 🙂

      Like

  5. ha, well, at least you’ve got lots of comments now. I began a wordpress account only after beginning to read other people’s blogs in 2016 and to make things simple I needed some kind of ID so that when I post comments I don’t have to go through the rigmarole of proving I’m not a robot. Then, having created my account I thought, “well, why not blog?”, so I’m still a real novice at all this.
    Just one problem still remains when commenting on blogs on the Blogspot platform- they don’t recognise my wordpress ID. Does anyone know why? I must be doing something wrong.
    Heather

    Like

  6. I don’t think you’re specifically doing anything wrong if you can’t comment on a Blogspot blog as this has been mentioned to me before. I’ve just looked in the Blogger help topics and it would seem to depend on whatever comment moderation settings any individual blogger has – if set to something like ‘registered user’ or ‘blog members only’ then any comments from other sources won’t be accepted.

    If you want to experiment a bit then try leaving a comment on my blog and let me know on here what happens – it’s set for anyone to comment but I do have comment moderation so I should get an email to approve the comment. If that doesn’t work then I can only assume that it’s the comment moderation bit which stops WordPress users from commenting on Blogspot blogs.

    http://tigermousetales.blogspot.co.uk/

    Like

    1. thanks, yes, I tried it. It didn’t like my wordpress ID, saying: “Your OpenID credentials could not be verified.” but then allowed me to comment as ‘anonymous’ without all the robot rigmarole I have to go through with Quaysider (who is a nice guy, he’s not deliberately making it difficult for me!). Technology, eh? useful but also endlessly frustrating.
      Heather

      Like

      1. I got an email alert for your comment on my camping blog so I’ve read it and replied. Technology’s wonderful when it works! lol. Obviously the Blogger comments system doesn’t like WordPress, which doesn’t make any sense as WordPress accepts Blogger comments. At least if you do want to comment on my other blog you now know what works 🙂

        Like

  7. Believe me, I’ve been there! I’ve never used Blogspot and do generally prefer the look I can get with WP but it can be a bitch if you get it wrong. Like all of life! 🙂 🙂 Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m hoping I can do a good walk this weekend but the current dull rainy weather might put the kibosh on that idea. Have a great weekend yourself! 🙂

    Like

  9. How frustrating! I must admit to the occasional battle with WordPress myself. It could be worse though. My first experience of publishing online (newsletters for a tour operator I worked for) was with HTML code. It made me tear my hair out on many occasions.

    Like

    1. Thank you for following me; this blog is only five months old so it’s nice when I get a new follower 🙂

      I’ve never tried using HTML and I don’t think I will unless it’s absolutely necessary – I’d like to keep all my hair! 🙂 🙂

      Like

      1. It seems incredible to me now, but I set up a small website on freespace with Virgin when I first went online, before 2000 I think that was. I had to code it as I didn’t have software to do that for me, just a How To type book. It was the days before broadband when you had to ‘dial up’ a connection, which now feels like a hundred years ago doesn’t it?

        Like

  10. Oh, the good old days of ‘dial up’ 🙂 To be honest it took me ages to change to broadband as at one time I didn’t use the internet enough to justify the cost, but as prices came down I got a good deal with Virgin for tv, broadband and phone so it would have been daft not to go for it. I couldn’t imagine going back to dial up now though 😦

    Like

  11. That happens to me often on Blogger. Also, the font size becomes small when I decide to change the font. By chance I found that I can make changes directly in the html format. Is that something you can do in WordPress?

    Like

Leave a Reply

