I can’t believe I’ve just done this….

At 8.30 this morning I did something which is totally unheard of for me – I phoned the camp site I was booked in at and cancelled my weekend. Bank holidays are important to me as good opportunities to get away from home and work for a few days, and in the twenty years I’ve been camping I’ve very rarely missed one so this wasn’t an easy decision. Normally I really look forward to a long weekend away camping but for several reasons I’ve been having niggling doubts about this one since Thursday.
It was only on Wednesday that I realised the bank holiday was this weekend – I was actually thinking it wasn’t until next weekend so it felt like it had suddenly jumped up and hit me in the face, especially as it was only just over a week since I got back from the Easter break and I was still writing about that one on myΒ other blog.
Then there’s been my work; the boss who I clean the house for is in the process of moving, and over the Easter weekend he rang me and asked if I could do some extra hours for him, cleaning the place he’s moving into as well as the one he’s currently living in. So last Wednesday, after doing my usual morning job, I cleaned his current house; on Thursday I spent five hours cleaning his new house and on Saturday I did my friend’s house clean which I would normally have done on the Thursday. If I’d been a cat I would have been chasing my own tail.
This week I’ve been able to spread things out a bit more but if I went away this weekend I would just end up playing catch-up again next week. The van is still packed up from Easter so this weekend’s preparations would have been minimal, but after doing a lunchtime job and two evenings jobs yesterday I was so tired when I finally got home that I was in no mood to do anything at all. My final decision not to go away was based on the late night weather forecast; although there was to be some sun there would also be a fair amount of cloud and as the photos I wanted to take relied on good sunshine I didn’t want to base my trip on ‘maybes’. The places I wanted to go to will still be there next year and for many years to come so I’ll be able to get the photos I want eventually, it’ll just take a little while longer – and if the weather here at home turns out to be really nice I’ll be able to enjoy some good walks with the dogs so the weekend won’t be completely wasted.
9 thoughts on “I can’t believe I’ve just done this….

  1. I felt like I was cheating myself out of a weekend away by not going but I really couldn’t be bothered making the effort. This bank holiday has come so soon after Easter though – I really think they should be spread out a bit more. The weather was a big factor too – there was no point going away and paying site fees and fuel cost etc if it was going to be cloudy and grey, I can stay at home and get the same weather for free! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. These Bank Holidays, Easter and the two in May are very close together. If the weather turns out nice then there are some good photo opportunities nearer to home. Enjoy πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Eileen, you are so predictable – I’ve been sitting here waiting, just knowing that your comment would come through about now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I don’t know what the weather is like down there but it’s changeable up here. For the last few days it’s been lovely and sunny in the mornings but has clouded over by lunchtime; yesterday was quite chilly too and it did try to rain late afternoon. It’s sunny but windy just now; I’ll take the dogs out later if it stays nice πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Sometimes things just seem to pack in, one on top of the other, and you feel like life’s not your own. I have an ever niggling list in my head of places I’d like to go, but sometimes you just have to sit back and let it go. Hope you and the ‘mice’ had a good weekend anyway. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I had quite a chilled weekend Jo, and I’m glad now that I didn’t go away. I would definitely have been playing catch-up with work again if I had – as it is, I’ve still had to change things round a bit to fit everything in. My final clean on the boss’s old house is tomorrow so once that’s done I should be back to something like normal – although I’m not sure my life ever is ‘normal’! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. You did absolutely the right thing. The whole point of us having leisure vehicles, whatever size and sort they are, is to go off and enjoy ourselves, to relax. If the timing is wrong, for whatever reason, then surely it would just be stubbbornness to pay pitch fees, and petrol, and whatever else when you would be relaxing just as well at home. I’ve done the same thing in the past and am sure I’ll do it again in the future.

    Like

  7. When I got to the end of last week Jayne I was glad I hadn’t gone away as I really would have been playing catch up with my work. By the time I finally got home on Friday evening I was so tired I just wanted to go straight to bed – how I stayed awake long enough to take the dogs for their late evening walk I’ll never know! The extra work is over now thank goodness so I can get back to my usual routine πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

