Walking all over cancer

After seeing a tv advert yesterday I’ve taken the plunge and signed up to raise money for Cancer Research by walking 10,000 steps every day in June, in memory of Michael’s dad who, as some of you will remember, died of cancer in early December last year. According to sources, 10,000 steps equates to five miles but then I suppose that depends on an individual’s stride length, however I’m now in the process of checking out various affordable gadgets and gizmos to find the one which will give me the most accurate measure of step count and distance.
When I think of all the walking I do when I’m at work, plus taking the dogs out every day, 10,000 steps seems like a fairly easy target but I’m not expecting it to be so simple. There may be days when, for whatever reason, I don’t take the dogs as far as on other days, although if I don’t do the required number of steps on one day I can make up the total by walking extra on another day. As much as I enjoy walking Sophie and Poppie this challenge could turn out be harder than I think – it may not be a walk in the park (although it could be if that’s where I take them!) but I’m determined to do it and raise as much money as I can beg, bully, extort and nag people into parting with for a good cause.
If anyone would like to sponsor me or make a donation then my fundraising page can be foundΒ here.Β  Thank you for reading.
thumbnail_signed_up_badge-01
6 thoughts on “Walking all over cancer

  1. Thanks Jo. I’ll be posting regular updates on here so everyone can see how I’m getting on – that’s if I’m not too whacked out to turn on the pc! lol πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Thanks for the good luck comment Amber πŸ™‚

    I don’t have a smart phone, and even if I did I wouldn’t play Pokemon Go. A friend’s daughter plays it and no matter how much she tries to explain it to me it just doesn’t make sense that people go all over the place looking for things that aren’t actually real. If I need any encouragement to walk more I only have to look at the dogs, they are always up for a walk πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

