A reservoir ramble

It was another gloriously sunny spring day and though I had several things which needed doing at home I ditched them all in favour of going out on a long walk with the dogs round Entwistle reservoir, a place I hadn’t been to since this time last year and which was only just over six miles north of home. Designed by a local land surveyor and constructed in 1832 the reservoir dam is 110 metres long at the crest and 108 feet high and it was, back then, the highest in Britain. The reservoir itself contains almost 750 thousand gallons and coupled with the nearby Wayoh reservoir satisfies about half of Bolton’s need for drinking water.
My walk started from the car park at the south end of the reservoir and at one end of the dam; a wooden gate led to the waterside path and it wasn’t long before I got my first three shots. A large pine forest bordered the reservoir, separated from the path by a stone wall, and alongside the wall benches were set at intervals. As I headed further west the reservoir got narrower, finally ending in a shallow stream crossed by a wooden bridge.
Local area 2016 106
Looking west
Local area 2016 107
Local area 2016 108
Looking back towards the dam
Local area 2016 110
Local area 2016 111
The western end
The path split into two by the bridge, with one part running alongside the stream and disappearing into the pine forest; I walked a little way along and took a couple of shots of the rocky stream before retracing my steps and crossing the bridge. Another path ran alongside the far side of the stream, this time bordered on both sides by bright yellow gorse bushes, and it looked so attractive I couldn’t resist walking a little way along that one as well, then back at the bridge again I continued my circuit of the reservoir.
Local area 2016 118
Looking upstream
Local area 2016 117
Downstream to the reservoir
Local area 2016 114
View from the bridge
Local area 2016 116
Local area 2016 119
Close to the bridge was a wide grassy area with a couple of benches, an ideal place to have a picnic or just chill out in the sunshine; from there the path ran close to the water’s edge for quite a distance, and with bluebells and gorse growing along each side it was really attractive. Eventually the reservoir widened out again and after a while it became separated from the path by a stone wall; there were several small grassy and rocky areas right by the water but it seemed that this part was used by the members of a private fishing club so there was no access for the general public.
Copy of Local area 2016 120
Local area 2016 123
Local area 2016 124
Local area 2016 125
After a while the path veered away from the water and took me through a wooded area, skirting round a small creek where another stream flowed into the reservoir, before taking me back to the waterside. Several trees along the next stretch had branches growing over the path and down over the wall at intervals, making lovely green archways to walk under – and it was only after I’d got home and put my photos on the pc that I realised I’d taken an almost identical shot to one I took last year.
Local area 2016 128
An archway of trees
Local area 2016 129
View from the dam
Eventually the path ended at the dam and a road leading up the hill to Entwistle village; with no wish to go into the village I took one final shot from the dam and headed back to the van. It had been a good walk of about three miles and very enjoyable in the sunshine, but now it was time to head home for a much-needed brew.
Entwistle Reservoir
My walk, clockwise from yellow spot
I’m linking up again withย Jo’s Monday Walkย where this time she’s exploring the Rio Arade estuary in the Algarve – do pop over and join her to see some beautiful and stunning views. And I hope you’ll agree with me when I say the very first photo definitely has the ‘wow’ factor ย ๐Ÿ™‚

 

13 thoughts on “A reservoir ramble

  1. Some very attractive paths (did the gorse smell of coconut?) and a thoroughly nice looking walk and at three miles just the right size for small legs (and elderly ones too!)

    Did I ever tell you Daisy is rumoured to have been ‘rescued’ from somewhere outside Bolton?

    Like

    1. The gorse only had a faint smell but it was nice.

      When I got back to the van I did think about making it a double walk and doing another 3-mile circular one round the next reservoir which is only a short distance from the car park, but I really wanted a brew so I went back home. The dogs would have been fine with another three miles, they are happy to keep going as long as I do ๐Ÿ™‚

      I did read on your blog about when you first got Daisy but I don’t think you ever mentioned the possibility of her coming from near here. I do know she’s very happy with you though ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Sincere apologies, Eunice! Somehow I thought this was your previous walk. There are a lot of walks in the links this week so I’ll include it next week, if that’s ok with you? It doesn’t matter which you link to. I’m just grateful you can come along. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve had a few WP issues this week, not entirely solved yet. Many thanks!

    Like

    1. No problem Jo, I’m happy for you to include it next week as I may not have one for then anyway. I’ll probably be away for the weekend so if I do one I won’t have time to post it before then.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for popping in and commenting ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m glad I did the walk that day as the last few days haven’t been as good. Still dry but dull and grey with only a few brief bouts of sun. The scent of the gorse wasn’t very strong but it was really nice ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. You’d be surprised at the things we have in this town Becky ๐Ÿ™‚ The pyramids actually form part of the overflow channel, though I must admit it’s the first reservoir overflow I’ve ever seen with pyramids ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

