A weekend away

I returned home yesterday afternoon after a weekend away at the Elvaston Castle Steam Rally just outside Derby. Always the early bird I was on the road by 5.15am on Saturday, arriving at the show ground just after 7am. Weekend camping for the rally is actually on four huge farmer’s fields across the road from the show ground, and while most people camp in the two fields closest to the entrance I prefer to be in a quiet corner out of the way, so after checking in with the camping stewards I made my way over to my favourite spot near the far end of the far field.
It was while I was putting up the tent that disaster struck but I’m not going into detail here – I’ll save that for my camping blog, when I finally find time to update it. As well as all the usual stalls and attractions at the rally there was camel racing (which I thought was rather boring but it would have been okay for kids) and Winged World with some very colourful parrots and cute little owls. The weather was gloriously sunny and warm all weekend and I was able to get out and about with the dogs and the camera, especially on Sunday when not only did I walk round the show ground but I also went for a lovely walk along the nearby canal – and even though my step challenge has officially finished I surpassed myself that day by walking a total of six miles and 21,339 steps!
Copy of Elvaston Castle 2017 016
Copy of Elvaston Castle 2017 088
Copy of Elvaston Castle 2017 086
Copy of Elvaston Castle 2017 085
Copy of Elvaston Castle 2017 056
Copy of Elvaston Castle 2017 102
With the opportunity to catch up with various camping friends, and friends from years ago who live nearby, plus a walk round the castle grounds before setting off on the journey home, it was a very enjoyable weekend, and already I’m looking forward to doing it all again in July next year.
6 thoughts on “A weekend away

  1. Oh no to the disaster whatever it was but glad it didn’t spoil your weekend, I’m pleased the weather picked up for you too. I think I would have enjoyed watching the camel racing, something different that I’ve never seen before and the birds are really lovely. That was a very impressive step count. Glad you enjoyed your weekend away.

    Like

  2. It was a great weekend Eileen, especially as the weather was good. The disaster was overcome and it didn’t spoil my weekend but I’ll be needing to spend some serious money in the not-too-distant future 😦 The camel racing wasn’t as good as I thought it would be but it was something a bit different and was okay for the kids.

    I’ve been going to that rally every year since 2010 – with the exception of last year when it was cancelled due to the ground being waterlogged – and it’s always a good weekend. I go as much for the camping as anything as most attractions at the rally are the same every year but it’s a good way of camping and meeting up with friends. The cost for me is £28 for the whole weekend from Friday noon to Monday noon (although I can’t go Friday because of work) and that includes unlimited entrance to the rally on Saturday and Sunday (£10 each day if paid on the gate), the entertainment on Friday and Saturday evening and the actual camping, so not bad value for money 🙂

    Like

  3. Hey Eunice,

    The Elvaston Castle Steam Rally seemed like loads of fun. Despite your to be revealed tenting disaster, what a great time for you, what with the ongoing sunny and pretty darned hot weather we’re getting.

    Watching a camel race does sound boring and would give me the hump.

    Take care, Eunice.

    Gary 🙂

    Like

  4. It’s a great weekend Gary, and it’s not all about steam engines and vintage tractors, there’s something for everyone. The camels just ran – if you can call it that – from one side of the ring to the other and everyone had to shout for number three as that was always the last one, but there was a load of messing about between races so I did find it rather boring. The dancing diggers have always been my favourites though, the guys operating those never fail to entertain 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi, Eunice! I know it’s been awhile since I’ve come to visit. I’ve been in recovery mode since my surgery in early May. Now starting to get back into making the rounds. What a great weekend you had. It’s always fun to reconnect with friends. Love the photos

    Like

  6. I hope you’re recovering well from your surgery Susie. My weekend was very enjoyable, made even better by the great weather. I’ll be putting some larger versions of the photos on my camping blog eventually – I’ve been so busy since I got back on Monday that I haven’t had time to update it yet, and I’m away again on Sunday for ten days so it may be a while before I get round to it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

