Manchester street art January-April

The street art scene in the city centre, especially around the Northern Quarter, continues to be lacking in the amount of new murals; where I would once have visited Manchester regularly, sometimes twice a week as artworks changed so often, my street art hunts are now less frequent unless I’m in the city for another reason. That being so, I’ve accumulated all the artworks I’ve found since mid January into one collection.
First was quite an amusing but grumpy-looking fish/dog and its underwater kennel on one of the advertising walls and not far away a pack of five mosaic dogs stretched along a side wall, although I’ve no idea who either of the artists were. On an interior wall of Yard & Coop chicken restaurant was a smiling fox while an exterior shutter featured a colourful Barbie mural by Katie Scott.
DSCF9643 - Copy-horzDSCF9648 - CopyDSCF9647 - CopyDSCF9649 - Copy
In Stevenson Square a window of Fred Aldous art and craft shop was adorned with a cute cat, the square itself had shed its previous festive images and was preparing for Valentine’s day and round the corner the face of a rabbit paste-up somehow reminded me of John Lennon, while across the narrow back street was one of Ethan Lemon’s trademark green faces.
DSCF9652 - CopyDSCF9657 - CopyDSCF9655 - CopyDSCF9653 - Copy-horzDSCF9656 - CopyDSCF9658 - CopyDSCF0136 - CopyDSCF9650 - CopyDSCF9651 - Copy
Round near the police museum I found three more paste-ups – underneath that long black hair is the cute face of a dog – and on a corner in Lever Street was another green face. The end wall of the old Thomas Street/Tib Street substation featured one of Yerp’s grotesque characters while the side wall featured a much nicer and rather amusing duck mural by Hammo. The bookshelf mural was a chance find, spotted as I walked through the streets near the People’s History Museum but I’ve no idea who the artist is.
DSCF0139 - CopyDSCF0140 - CopyDSCF0141 - CopyDSCF0137 - CopyDSCF0138 - CopyDSCF0036 - CopyDSCF0135 - CopyDSCF0025 - Copy
Back in the NQ a colourful shutter over a side window seemed to be an advertisement for ebay, two more of Yerp’s peculiar characters and a third green face put in an appearance while Stevenson Square has recently undergone a garden transformation in anticipation of the summer weather which seems to be taking a long while to arrive. And finally I couldn’t ignore the two dogs which now decorate the windows at the Fred Aldous shop thanks to Hammo, current artist in residence.
DSCF0370 - CopyDSCF0365 - CopyDSCF0369 - CopyTib streetDale streetDale street (2)DSCF0385 - CopyDSCF0218 - CopyDSCF0384 - CopyDSCF0373 - Copy-horzDSCF0381 - CopyDSCF0380 - CopyDSCF0378 - CopyDSCF0379 - CopyDSCF0372 - CopyDSCF0371 - CopyDSCF0376 - CopyDSCF0382 - CopyDSCF0383 - Copy
Well that just about wraps up my street art finds from the last four months, and though each month didn’t individually produce a great many artworks I think that adding them all together has created quite a good collection.

25 thoughts on “Manchester street art January-April

  1. It’s good to see that you’ve cobbled some of the murals together to make more sense of it all. If nothing else, it sorts the wheat out from the chaff. Unfortunately, I can’t pick a winner this week, but I reckon it’s the glasses on the rabbit that reminds us of John Lennon – intentional or not.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment Malc, I hope your health is continuing to improve. I think you’re right about the glasses on the rabbit – I came across a photo of a John Lennon mural which I took last year and the two look very similar 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. An eclectic mix, I think you’d call it, Eunice. Love the John Lennon rabbit and there are lots of parts of faces that look interesting. Always love a cheerful wall and that floral one is lovely. Has your weather brightened up a bit?

    Like

    1. This collection of street art is quite a varied mix, the floral walls are lovely and really brighten up the square.

      Weather is still very hit and miss, glorious one minute then raining the next, and temperature-wise it’s still very chilly. The heatwave we’ve been promised for the last couple of weeks is a long time coming!

      Like

  3. I think adding together all my ‘finds’ over three or four months looks like it’s the way to go unless the street artists suddenly get busy with the paint. There are a lot of good murals in some of the outlying districts but as I don’t drive into or around the city I’ve never attempted to find them.

    Like

  4. A shame there’s not so much new art for you to find but you’ve done pretty well nevertheless. The Barbie is fun and I like the Ethan Lemon pieces. Maybe it’s the poor weather putting artists off?

    Like

    1. Accumulating four months of murals has certainly made a good collection. The street art scene around the Northern Quarter has been gradually waning for over twelve months though I suppose bad weather can have a lot to do with it – I’m sure no-one would want to paint murals in the pouring rain.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I thought you might like the book shelf – it was a chance find as I was on the trail of the mosaics in early March. The photo is a zoom shot so I’ve no idea of its actual location.

    Like

  6. It’s amazing how much street art you manage to find in Manchester.
    You’re definitely right about Stevenson Square. I was there a few days before Christmas for my works Christmas do and the works in your post from there are completely different to the ones I saw. Must be difficult to keep up?
    Have you wandered around the streets near Oxford Road Station?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The Stevenson Square artwork seems to change every 2/3 months depending on the time of year. The ones you saw just before Christmas would have been the festive ones I photographed in early December and featured in my previous Manchester street art post. The ‘Valentine’s’ ones in this post were photographed in late January and the recent floral transformation photographed just three days ago. The artwork certainly brightens up the square, especially since it was pedestrianised.

    I’ve been round the streets near Oxford Road station a few times, I found a few murals which I featured a couple of years ago but other than those there doesn’t seem to be anything different so unless I actually need to get off the train at that station I don’t really go round there now.

    Like

  8. Quite a collection, from the cute to ones that make you go ‘hmm’. The fox is a winner for me, simple and charming. The spectacle wearing rabbit certainly has something about it though!

    Like

Leave a comment