This is completely quackers!

Last Sunday evening I went round the corner to visit my friends Lin and Dee, only to find that even after three attempts an hour apart they weren’t in, so it was Monday evening after work when I finally caught up with them. Apparently another friend of theirs , Nick, had invited them over his place for a barbecue and they hadn’t got home until later than intended – and the reason was in their bath!
Now to put you in the picture, Dee works in a local pet store, they both love animals, and anything they can possibly rescue they’ll take – they already have seven rescued bearded dragons and a rescued dog, and only a couple of weeks ago Dee was thinking about taking on a couple of rats which needed a new home until she realised that it wasn’t a wise idea with having Oscar, who’s a terrier. So during the course of the barbecue Nicks mother ‘just happened’ to let it slip that someone she knew was looking for a home for two young ducks, one of which (the female) is supposed to be partially paralysed on one leg – and if they weren’t gone within a couple of days then they would be destroyed. Well of course that couldn’t be allowed to happen so Lin and Dee said they would take the ducks – Nick drove them over to collect them and the ducks ended up in Lin’s bath with a large carrying cage for shelter until an alternative could be found for them.
When I went round again yesterday I found the ducks in the temporary shelter of a large 2-tier rabbit hutch and with a pre-formed garden pond for them to swim in, both given to Dee by someone she works with at the pet store. Now although the larger duck is plain brown and looks very much like a female Mallard they’ve been told it’s a male, and no amount of Googling on my part has come up with any other possible breed, anyway they’ve called it Jeremy – and the smaller duck, which is more or less all white apart from her head, has been called Jemima. It’s obvious that she’s still quite young as she still has a bit of yellow baby fluff on the back of her neck, but she’s really cute and she sat in my hands for ages, squeaking rather than actually quacking. As for the ‘partially paralysed’ bit, well she does have a slight limp but other than that she walks quite well, and the pair of them swim like – well, ducks!
Copy of Local area 2018 374
Jeremy
Copy of Local area 2018 375
Jemima
Copy of Local area 2018 372
Exploring the garden
Copy of Local area 2018 377
In the pond
Copy of Local area 2018 378
It’s lucky that Dee works where she does as she’ll be able to get any food and anything else they need at discount cost, and Nick is coming over at the weekend to section off part of the garden to make a dog-free duck area. I know the two of them will be well cared for so I hope they get to live long and happy lives.

6 thoughts on “This is completely quackers!

  1. A lovely tale, I’m glad the ducks have been saved and will have a happy life, they are very cute. Well done to your friends.

    Like

  2. It makes me wonder what my friends will rescue next! The ducks are cute though, especially Jemima even though she does look a bit scruffy – I really hope they’ll do well in their new home πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. We’ve had our fair share of rescued ducks and I loved having them, such characters! These two have certainly fallen on their little webbed feet!

    Like

  4. I’ve personally never thought about having ducks but I’d love to have some rescued battery hens once I finally get my back garden sorted out πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I went round to see them yesterday evening and they are doing well. I helped to round them up to shut them in for the night, Jemima is fairly easy to catch but Jeremy’s a little devil πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment