Scavenger photo hunt – October

For some reason October, for me at least, seems to have gone by in a flash and I only remembered yesterday that I should have posted my photo hunt pics on Thursday. Unfortunately I’ve had to have a rethink on some of the ones I wanted to use as they were only taken recently and for some stupid reason my computer isn’t importing them from the camera, so I’ve had a bit of a mad scramble through the archives to sort out some alternatives. The topics for this month are – umbrella, wet, puddles, overflowing, splash, and my own choice, so here’s my hastily-put-together selection.
The first shot was taken in the foyer of Dock 10 at MediaCity when I went on the Coronation Street tour last year. The umbrella project was launched on June 28th 2018 as part of an initiative to raise awareness of ADHD and autism and though I couldn’t see the significance the open umbrellas certainly made a bright splash of colour on the foyer ceiling.
Copy of coronation street tour 009
Umbrella – a ceiling at MediaCity, Salford
While on one of my regular Anglesey camping holidays a few years ago I went to Rhoscolyn beach on the west side of the island, a place I hadn’t, up to then, previously been to. The bay is a lovely place for water sports and I found these colourful kayaks pulled up on the wet sand.
Anglesey - July 2013 071
Wet – kayaks on the wet sand at Rhoscolyn beach, Anglesey
The next shot was taken during a camping holiday three years ago at my favourite site in Norfolk. The first few days had been very warm and sunny but while I was shopping in town at the end of my first week the weather changed and heavy rain arrived, and when I got back to the camp site I had a totally unexpected and unwanted surprise. I’d left the tent sitting on ground that was so dry and hard that I’d had difficulty knocking the pegs in when I first set up camp but I returned to find it sitting in the middle of a huge puddle a couple of inches deep. Fortunately the tent was fully sealed with an integrated groundsheet and the water soon drained away once the rain stopped.
California - Sept 2016 230
Puddles – my tent sitting in the middle of a huge puddle on a Norfolk camp site
About 50 yards along the street from my house is an unadopted back lane with a row of five garages set sideways on to the road, and one evening in March last year a main water pipe burst in front of the first garage, sending water overflowing down the back lane and into my street where it ran like a river past my house. A couple of United Utilities men turned up at midnight but they couldn’t do much with just a couple of torches and one spade between them so the needlessly overflowing water continued to run until the following day.
One place I often go to for a dog walk along the beach and a good meal in a nice cafe is St. Annes on the Fylde coast and when I went on one occasion last year I noticed quite a bit of work going on around the old model boating pond. This year I found that it’s been turned into a bright and attractive water play area, quite coincidentally called ‘Splash’, and a warm and sunny day in July saw it being well used by plenty of kids and the odd mum or two.
DSCF1457
Splash – the new water play area at St. Annes
And finally, sticking with the water-based theme, a search of the archives provided the last shot which was taken way back in early September 2008 when my partner and I had taken our caravan for a few days at Bridge House Marina on the Lancaster canal near Garstang. Sitting in the awning one evening I looked out to see a lovely sunset over the canal beyond the site so I grabbed the camera, ran round to the marina and fired off a quick shot before the sun disappeared completely. It was, just literally, a ‘point-and-shoot’ job but it came out so well that I enlarged it, printed it out and framed it.
Bridge House Marina - Sept. 08 029
My own choice – sunset over the Lancaster canal
So there you have it, my quickly put together collection for this month. As usual I’m linking up with Kate’s blog and once I’ve had some sleep (it’s now 1.15am!) I’ll hop round to see what interesting photos others have included.

 

24 thoughts on “Scavenger photo hunt – October

    1. Thanks for the comment Eileen, I hope Annie is doing okay. I’ve taken many sunset shots over the years but that particular one, so far, has always been the best 🙂

      Like

  1. A lovely interpretation of October’s words. I love the umbrella; so colourful. I’m not a fan of camping and the story of your tent in a puddle sounds horrible! Brave you to stay there. My favourite is the sunset photo. I’ve tried many times over the years to capture a sunset but no luck yet!

    Like

  2. The puddle round my tent was so big it was more like a small pond, although you can’t really tell from the photo. While I’d been out one of the nearby static caravans had been taken off its pitch and a lot of small flag stones left behind so I did a couple of journeys to collect a few and laid a flagged path through the water to the tent door 🙂 I’ve camped in all weathers so a bit of water round the tent, although unwanted, wasn’t going to put me off.

    Like

  3. What a wet lot of pictures you have selected. We too have been in our caravan in South Africa in a storm and woken up next day only to find ourselves completely surrounded by a moat of water. I was so pleased to see your umbrella picture as we had seen that on our local evening news and when I saw the word ‘umbrella’ that was the image that immediately sprung to mind. So thanks for that!!

    Like

    1. The umbrellas in that shot were only half of what were there, when I faced the other way there were as many again. I’m glad you like the shot, they were certainly very colourful 🙂

      Like

  4. There were some coloured umbrellas hanging above an alleyway in Dublin when I was there a few weeks back but not as many as in this shot. The sunset shot has some good memories for me 🙂

    Like

  5. I think my tent photo just shows that you can’t guarantee the British weather even in summer – the few days before that photo, and for the rest of the holiday afterwards, the weather was very warm and sunny. I’ve always said that if I waited for ‘guaranteed’ good weather in this country I’d never go camping at all so as long as it’s fine on the day I go I can cope with anything else 🙂

    Like

  6. What a great selection of photos, and all with a common theme. Your photo of St Annes has brought back so many happy memories, we’ve spent many happy weekends there with extended family. It’s such a lovely place for all the different age groups.

    Like

  7. St. Annes is a lovely place isn’t it? Strangely I don’t remember ever being taken there as a kid, I’m sure I must have been but probably only on an odd occasion. My partner and I used to go regularly when we together, the dogs we had at the time loved the beach and we discovered the café which I still go to now. Michael likes it too although because of his work shifts he’s only been with me once this year.

    Like

  8. It was amazing how quickly that huge puddle drained away from round the tent once it stopped raining. It’s funny that when I snapped that sunset shot I didn’t notice the ducks until I got home and put it on the pc 🙂

    Like

  9. Lovely selection of photos and stories:) The umbrellas are used as a positive uplifting symbol of neurodiversity – and on mass in such bright colours look so cheerful! thank you for joining in 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment