Manchester street art – June 2021

During the week of the Manchester Flower Show back in early June, when I spent two days trekking round the city looking for various floral displays and installations, I also photographed a lot of street art which, for one reason or another, has so far not made it onto the blog. Looking through my file of street art photos the other day I realised just how many haven’t yet seen the light of day so here’s the batch taken in various random locations around the city centre in June.
DSCF8680 - CopyDSCF8679 - Copy
Salmon Street
Tropical themed bar, Back Bridge Street
The artist of the next mural is an illustration lecturer with a focus on painting everyday people, friends and family or those he meets while painting in the streets. I’d never heard of him before and I have no idea why his work in the Arndale Centre was cordoned off but unfortunately it meant that I couldn’t get a decent straight shot of it. The following five were all roadside hoardings round a new development of apartments and penthouses being constructed not far from Angel Meadow park.
Arndale Centre – artist, Dreph
DSCF8813 - CopyDSCF8815 - CopyDSCF8793 - CopyDSCF8794 - CopyDSCF8795 - CopyDSCF8796 - CopyDSCF8797 - Copy
Coffee Town cafe, Angel Street
Railway viaduct, Bridgewater Canal, Castlefield
DSCF8638 - Copy
Railway viaduct near Oxford Road station
DSCF8861 - CopyDSCF8862 - CopyDSCF8863 - CopyDSCF8864 - CopyDSCF8883 - CopyDSCF8884 - Copy
Strange creatures in Gloucester Street
An ‘eye watering’ paste-up in Back Turner Street
DSCF9113 - CopyDSCF9108 - CopyDSCF9106 - CopyDSCF9107 - Copy
The Brazilian Waxing Company on Oxford Street seemed a bit of a quirky place. It was a double-fronted shop with the exterior flowery decor continuing inside and in the right hand window four pairs of gold coloured legs were hanging down from the ceiling but there were too many reflections in the glass for me to get a decent shot of the whole window.
Brazilian Waxing Company, Oxford Road
DSCF8877 - CopyDSCF8879 - Copy
Deansgate
The next mural was actually inside a shop and though I would have preferred to see it without the shadow from the internal window shutter I thought the pattern gave it quite an unusual appearance. The final artwork in this batch is Liam Bononi’s ”Inferno” – I’d been lucky enough to see him at work and chat to him while he was creating it a few weeks earlier so it was nice to finally see the finished piece.
DSCF8570 - CopyDSCF8600 (1) - Copy
Well this has just about brought my June street art photos up to date. I have several from August which haven’t yet seen the light of day but I’m thinking that the next couple of blog posts should have more of a festive theme. That all depends on the weather though – fingers crossed this continual rain will clear up soon and give me a couple of dry days to carry out my plan.

26 thoughts on “Manchester street art – June 2021

    1. Thank you Jules. I had an excellent teacher when I was in my early teens – my dad, who was a very good amateur photographer himself though of course street art wasn’t around then. I often wonder what he would make of it if it was.

      Like

  1. All wonderful artworks, not sure about those eyes though 🙂 I agree with Jules, your photographs are always excellent. I’ll look forward to your festive photos and as for the rain it never seems to stop does it.

    Like

    1. Those eyes are definitely a bit weird 🙂 We finally have a dry day here today but it’s very dull and just up the road it’s really foggy – I’m hoping for a bit of sunshine soon.

      Like

  2. I also enjoy looking at, and photographing, street art Eunice, and you’ve got some crackers here. My favourite has to be your final one ‘Inferno’, but I also like the Zombie Rumshack one too. Good post and nicely done 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Malc. I love photographing street art in its various forms and to say that cities don’t normally hold any attraction for me I enjoy going to Manchester every few weeks to search out anything new. Dublin has an abundance of street art too and I’ve had some great shots from there over the last three years.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As we both know Eunice, there’s a big difference between good and bad urban street art. Good art really helps to brighten a place up, whereas bad art in the form of juvenile tagging etc is a blot on the landscape and often spoils good works of art. My home city of Bristol is blessed (or otherwise) with an abundance of both. I don’t live there now, but often visit. If ever you’re in that area you should try to visit Bedminster (where I grew up) and visit Upfest. There’s more to Bristol street art than Banksy. I really should get around to doing a post on it too 😊

        Liked by 1 person

        1. To be honest I think Banksy’s stuff is very overrated – I’ve seen some of it on the internet and it doesn’t impress me at all. I’ve just been looking at a blog featuring Bristol street art and there are some superb artworks (probably painted over by now) which I think are far superior to Banksy’s. As for juvenile tagging, I don’t condone it and I don’t photograph it – luckily the better artworks in Manchester done by the likes of Akse, Qubek, Hammo and Liam Bononi etc. seem to be respected and don’t get defaced by senseless scrawl.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to have brightened up your morning BC. It always amazes me that street art seems to mysteriously appear almost overnight so I was really surprised and pleased to actually see the artist painting ‘Inferno’. It was commissioned by the property’s owners so it will probably be there for quite a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I wasn’t sure at first whether to include the eyes or not but they are so weird I didn’t want to leave them out. It makes me wonder what was going through the mind of whoever created that one 🙂

    Like

  5. So much talent – wow indeed. Yours for the excellent photos (your dad may have been a great teacher but you certainly have an eye for an image) and that of the artists.

    Particularly Liam Bononi’s work, stunning to see it in progress and finished. These young people are incredible, apart from the Capt Tom painting at Allonby I cannot think of anything similar round here.

    Like

  6. Thank you for the compliment Jayne, though I only photograph what I see in front of me – I just wish I had the talent of artists like Liam Bononi but even at school I was hopeless at art. The only street art I’ve found in Cumbria so far, apart from the Tom Moore one in Allonby, is quite an amateurish one near the fish sculpture at the Tesco end of Whitehaven’s promenade and the ones on the toilet block near the town centre car park in Keswick. Maybe the Lake District isn’t an appropriate area for street art unless maybe it’s relevant to a particular place, though as far as I know there are about 18 pieces dotted around Carlisle city centre.

    Like

  7. It’s funny but Manchester is a city I always want to get out of as quickly as possible. Probably because I’m usually in transit if I’m there. So I’ve never done any wandering or seen any of the street art you share, Eunice, but you do a great job of finding it. The birds on that building with the arch caught my attention, but I usually like expressive faces and characters best. I hope the weather cheers up so you can get out for a Christmas walk. Have a good one!

    Like

  8. You wouldn’t have liked Manchester today Jo, I went on a special mission (for the next blog post) and the place was absolutely heaving. It took a lot of patience to get the photos I wanted then I got out of there as quick as I could – and now I realise why I usually go early on Sunday mornings! 🙂

    Like

  9. Thank you for your comment and welcome to the Mouse House. I regularly photograph Manchester’s street art so I hope you enjoy my past and future artwork posts.

    Like

Leave a comment