North Wales mini break – Day 2

After a very comfortable and quiet night I woke the following morning to grey clouds which were gradually being replaced by blue skies and the promise of a nice day. The first dog walk of the day was to be an exploration of the nearby beach; from the site entrance it was just a 3-minute walk down the hill but if there was any sand at all it was completely covered by the high tide which came right up to the sea defences. Two rough surfaced car parks were situated between the sea defences and the North Wales Coast Path and the River Dulas came from somewhere inland and ran parallel to the path for a distance before curving round and emptying itself into the sea. Admittedly this wasn’t the prettiest of places but it did give us a good dog walk before we went back to the site for breakfast.
DSCF1431 - CopyDSCF1433 - CopyDSCF1426 - CopyDSCF1429 - CopyDSCF1427 - CopyDSCF1428 - CopyDSCF1436 - Copy
Across the bay – Rhos-on-Sea in the sunshine
My main aim of the day was a visit to Conwy, somewhere I hadn’t been for a few years, though I was stopping off at Rhos-on-Sea on the way. Now although I left the site in brilliant sunshine the same couldn’t be said for arriving in Rhos – less than six miles along the coast the sun had almost disappeared and the sky was clouding over rapidly. Leaving the van in a roadside parking place on West Promenade I walked along the seafront, passing Combermere Gardens and the harbour and making my turn around point the tiny St. Trillo’s Chapel on the lower promenade at Marine Drive.
Combermere Gardens is a small but attractive raised paved area overlooking the sea and incorporating a few benches and planted flower beds. In Victorian times, before the promenade linking Rhos-on-Sea to Colwyn Bay was constructed, this site was the grounds of a house known as Combermere Lodge, sometimes referred to as Combermere Cottage. The house was demolished in the early 1900s as a result of either constructing or widening that section of the promenade and the owners of the nearby Cayley Arms Hotel made a contribution towards the cost of demolishing the other buildings between there and the sea, presumably to improve the hotel’s own view.
In 1909 suggestions were made in the local press as to the best use for the site of the demolished Combermere Lodge. Some locals wanted it used for public conveniences, some for public gardens, and there was also an application made to the council to rent the land for a ‘café chantant’ which would have provided refreshments, musical entertainments, dancing and lights at night. Although this had a lot of support it also had a lot of objections and the idea was eventually abandoned.
It’s unclear what decisions were taken at the time but underground public conveniences were erected at some point, along with a basic bandstand with a small canopy, and the site was given the official name of Combermere Square, though by the advent of the Second World War the local nickname had become ‘Lavatory Square’. These public conveniences were demolished sometime after the war and curved enclosing walls with coloured glass inserts were erected around the square. These in turn were demolished in the 1990s and the current attractive raised gardens and seating were built in their place giving good views across the bay.
DSCF1443 - CopyDSCF1442 - CopyDSCF1444 - CopyDSCF1446 - CopyDSCF1460 - Copy
Barely 7ft tall at its apex and seating just six people the tiny St. Trillo’s Chapel is thought to be the smallest church in the British Isles. It was named after St. Trillo, a 6th century saint who built his cell there, though having been heavily repaired several times over the centuries its true age is unknown. St. Trillo’s original cell was probably made of wood and wattle although he may have built a wall of stones gathered from the beach to protect the structure from winds. His decision to build his cell on that particular spot would probably have been influenced by a natural spring which provided him with drinking water; the chapel was later built around the well and for centuries this well supplied the water for baptisms across the extensive medieval parish of Llandrillo. It also had a long tradition of being a healing well and it can still be seen in front of and below the altar.
A locked wrought iron gate across the chapel entrance stopped me from going inside but the place was so small I had no difficulty in taking a couple of shots through the bars. There was a very pretty Christmas wreath attached to the gate and on the surrounding wall was a pretty Christmas plant and a collection of painted pebbles and stones left in memory of various loved ones. The chapel is still used for an Anglican Eucharist every Wednesday and though I admit to not being particularly religious, with no-one around just then it was nice to sit on the bench and spend a few minutes in quiet contemplation.
DSCF1448 - CopyDSCF1449 - CopyDSCF1450 - CopyDSCF1451 - CopyDSCF1457 - Copy
Walking back along the promenade I came across Rhos-on-Sea’s very own version of ‘street art’, a Welsh dragon painted on the garden wall of the Cayley Flyer pub/restaurant. The pub, formerly the Cayley Arms but renamed after refurbishment in 2017, was named after the Cayley family who were once prominent landowners in the area, and several other local place names mark this influence including the Cayley Promenade with its distinctive steep grass bank on the landward side of the road.
One member of the family, Sir George Cayley, was an eminent inventor and in 1853, fifty years before the Wright brothers, he designed and built a flying machine which could carry the weight of a man. This glider, the “Cayley Flier”, flew for about 275 metres across Brompton Dale in Yorkshire before crash-landing. Sir George, who was 80 years old at the time, hadn’t wanted to risk flying the plane himself so he had ordered his coachman, John Daley, to fly it for him – after the alarming experience of the crash-landing the coachman promptly resigned. This was the first recorded flight in history in a fixed-wing aircraft and it paved the way for the Wright brothers first powered flight in 1903, though the brothers did acknowledge Sir George Cayley as being the true inventor of the aeroplane.
DSCF1461 - Copy
I’d just got past the Cayley Flyer when it started to rain, just spits and spots at first but becoming heavier after a few minutes. With no umbrella and quite a distance still to walk to the van I dodged into a promenade shelter in the hope that the rain would soon stop, and that’s where I made what must be the silliest find of the year – left on the bench in the shelter was a bag of Tesco potatoes.
It was a bit of a mystery where they had come from as there is no Tesco in Rhos, and even though I sat in the shelter for a while no-one came to claim them. With no ‘best before’ date on the bag there was no way of knowing how long they could have been there but they looked okay so when I finally made my way back to the van I took them with me; I didn’t want them for myself but I knew someone who might be able to use them. Unfortunately it seems that when they were opened they had a funny smell so they were relegated to the bin, but it’s still a mystery as to how, when or why they came to be left in that shelter in Rhos-on-Sea.
DSCF1462 - Copy
With no sign of any improvement in the weather it crossed my mind to go back to the camp site but there was a shop in Conwy which I particularly wanted to visit so I continued with my day out, driving round to Conwy and finding a space in a car park on the edge of the town centre. The shop I wanted to go to is featured on the Quest tv programme Salvage Hunters and I’d been in there not long after it first opened a few years ago. It would be nice to have another look round but I was destined to be disappointed as not only was the place now ‘by appointment only’ it was also closed for the Christmas and New Year period, though I did manage to get a couple of photos looking through the windows.
DSCF1465 - CopyDSCF1463 - CopyDSCF1464 - Copy
Having window-shopped my way round the town, which didn’t take long as it isn’t a big place, I went to take some photos near the castle. Unfortunately the suspension bridge, designed by Thomas Telford and completed in 1826, was closed with railings and a locked gate barring my way; in the care of the National Trust it’s been open to pedestrians only for many years but it seems that every time I’ve been to Conwy it’s been closed so I’ve never yet managed to walk across it.

DSCF1483 - CopyDSCF1480 - CopyDSCF1477 - CopyDSCF1475 - Copy

Across the road and down on the quayside a handful of fishing boats were moored up and several jumbles of fishing baskets were piled here and there. Most were heaped in a somewhat haphazard fashion but one lot of rectangular baskets had been stacked neatly in a way similar to building a brick wall and they provided me with quite a colourful abstract-type shot.
DSCF1469 - CopyDSCF1474 - CopyDSCF1472 - CopyDSCF1471 - CopyDSCF1470 - Copy
Further along the quay was the Smallest House in Great Britain, originally created in the 16th century to fill a gap between two previously built rows of cottages. With the side wall of each end cottage and the back wall being part of the town wall’s central tower an enterprising builder realised all that was needed to create another house was the front wall and a roof. Over the years the house was home to many different people including a painter, a widow, a master mariner and his wife, a coachman and a fisherman and in 1891 it was bought for £20 by Robert Jones, a land owner who lived further along the quay. A copy of the conveyance hangs on a wall in the house, showing that for that price he not only bought the house but also acquired a sitting tenant with it, another Robert Jones. Robert Jones (the tenant) was 6ft 3ins tall but somehow continued to live in the Smallest House until 1900 when the local Corporation inspector declared it and the cottages to the left of it unfit for habitation.
Unhappy about the potential loss of rental income from the Smallest House Robert Jones (the owner) and his friend Roger Dawson, editor of the North Wales Weekly News, took a tour of the UK to measure other small houses in an effort to declare the Conwy house the smallest in Great Britain and thus save it from being demolished. Having established that it was indeed the smallest the Corporation agreed that it could be saved from demolition and opened instead as a tourist attraction. The Guinness Book of Records confirmed its status as the Smallest House in Great Britain in the early 1920s.
Measuring just 6ft across, 10ft deep and 10ft 2ins high the house has a single cramped bedroom upstairs and a downstairs living area with a water tap, an open coal fire and very basic cooking facilities. It has remained in the ownership of Robert Jones’ family ever since Jones himself bought it and is currently owned by his great, great granddaughter. It’s open to visitors daily from early spring until late autumn, with a lady in Welsh national dress standing outside, but due to structural instability the upstairs can only be viewed from a step ladder.
DSCF1486 - CopyDSCF1487 - Copy
While I’d been looking round the shops earlier on I’d also been looking for a cafe where I could get a coffee and a simple snack but most places didn’t seem to offer what I was looking for, however I did find one where I would be able to get a toasted sandwich. It wasn’t to be though as no sooner had I got through the door than I was told rather abruptly by the young woman behind the counter “Sorry, we’re full!” even though there were several empty tables in evidence. So after photographing the Smallest House I got fish and peas from a nearby chippy and took them back to the van.
As I was on my way back there I came across a window display which somehow I’d missed before. It was the most adorable nativity scene made up of felt mice and a few other little animals, so cute that I just had to take a photo looking through the glass. That was my last shot of the day and after demolishing my fish and peas, which were very good, I set off back to the camp site.
DSCF1484 - Copy
It was unfortunate that the promising sunshine of the morning had been replaced by grey clouds and rain but I’d still enjoyed my day even though my photos at Conwy had to be taken from under the shelter of my umbrella – and seeing the mouse nativity scene just ended my day out nicely.

22 thoughts on “North Wales mini break – Day 2

  1. It looks like you had a good day even though the weather was bad. It was interesting to read about the Cayley family. I can tell you something you wouldn’t know about my hubby’s family. His grandparents were both born in Wrexham and his grandad’s occupation as a young man in 1911 was a bottler in a wine store. After his grandparents married they moved to Birmingham for work but returned to live in north Wales where we’ve been told his grandfather worked in the Cayley Arms and this will be the reason we live in this area of north Wales. It was a shame about the potatoes but a real mystery why they were left on the promenade 🙂

    Like

  2. A mystery which will never be solved Eileen – if only potatoes could talk 🙂 An interesting snippet about your hubby’s family too. It was a good day out and I enjoyed it in spite of the weather.

    Like

  3. Oh my such a lot if interest. Tiny chapels and minute houses. Best of all for me, the connection to George Cayley. Brompton is on the route from Pickering to Scarborough and I know it well and the story of the First flight. I suppose as you were in Wales the two metre rule would have been in operation. But fish and mushy peas were a better option I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s unbelievable that someone over 6ft tall could have spent so many years living in the Smallest House – I’m sure he must have developed a bad back and a permanent stoop. The fish and mushy peas were really nice so if I go back to Conwy in the future I’ll go to that chippy again.

    Like

  5. Maybe the day wasn’t 100% successful, but to come across the smallest church and smallest house in Britain during the walk was surely worth the visit alone. That was an interesting story about the Cayley Flyer too!

    Like

    1. I already knew about the smallest chapel and smallest house as I’ve seen them in previous years, and I remember my dad taking me in the house during a family holiday when I was a child – it really is tiny. I’ve only ever known about the Wright brothers first powered flight so the story of the Cayley Flier was really interesting, though I’m not surprised the coachman resigned after that crash landing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I remember going inside the smallest house, it really is the tiniest place.
    Shame that you couldn’t go into Drew Pritchard’s shop. Maybe he is so famous now that drop-in visitors are frowned upon…

    Like

  7. I think you hit the nail on the head Sharon. I remember when I started watching the programme years ago when the business was in the old place, I had a look on his website and it gave the opening hours so I called in one day in 2015 on my way back from Anglesey, only to find that things had changed and it was then appointments only so I didn’t get to look round. I did see little Enzo though and got a couple of photos of him. When I went in the Conwy shop a few years ago it was so full of stuff – overpriced tat mainly – it was hard to walk round anywhere. The place does look a bit more well set out now but reading the Tripadvisor reviews it sounds very much like he’s only interested in people visiting if they are likely to buy something rather than those who just want a look round.

    Like

  8. I did not know that about the Cayley Flier – that was very interesting as was the smallest house! It is a wonder that anyone (never mind a 6’3″ bloke) fitted into such a ‘shed sized’ dwelling.
    The mouse nativity scene is so sweet, glad you snapped a photo but my favourites are the lobster pots both the tidy and the jumbled! thanks Eunice 🙂

    Like

    1. It was interesting to learn about the Cayley Flier but I don’t think I would have wanted to be the one to try it out 🙂 As for the house, I’m only 4ft 11ins tall but even I would struggle to live in such a small place so heaven knows how someone over 6ft would manage. And the mouse nativity scene was so adorable I just had to take a photo 🙂

      Like

  9. We visited North Wales a few years ago and it’s somewhere I’d love to visit again. What an interesting post, though it’s a shame you didn’t get to cross the suspension bridge, have a mooch around Drew Pritchard Antiques, or partake of a toasted sandwich. Still, fish and peas sounds like a better option anyway. A mystery about the potatoes, and that felted nativity scene is just the cutest.

    Like

  10. Maybe you should make it your mission to visit North Wales this year Jo, there are so many interesting places to see without going too far down the coast. I would have walked the town walls and gone in Conwy castle this time but for the rain – that’s something to think about for another time. As for the antique shop, I can live without looking round as it wasn’t that important. The mouse nativity scene looked so sweet, with hindsight I should have gone in the shop to see if they had some mice for sale and bought one of each 🙂

    Like

    1. I’ve looked it up and it does. I thought about getting the book to see if there were any small churches I could get to while on my travels but the Daily Mail did a feature on it and included several photos taken from it, it seems that structurally a lot of the churches featured aren’t exactly small compared to this one so I’m not sure sure how the author defines ‘tiny’.

      Like

  11. The tiny chapel is lovely but easy to miss unless walking along the lower promenade as it can’t really be seen from up above. When I first went there a few years ago I was able to go inside, there were vases of flowers on the altar and it looked really pretty 🙂

    Like

  12. WOW, you have some beautiful spots to visit! What is the temperature there? Do you camp in a tent or a camper, I’m just curious 🙂 The coastal photos are beautiful! I love antique shops. I would have been disappointed that the shop was by appointment only. I use to have an antique booth and I was actually thinking of doing that again but everyone here wants it for free! The tiny chapel is so pretty. What a great place to sit and reflect.

    Like

  13. The temperature as I type this is a very chilly 2 degrees C but while I was on this mini break it was actually quite warm for the time of year. For holidays of five days or longer I camp in a tent with two bedrooms and a large living area but just for two or three days I use my van. It’s a 7-seat mpv but I can make up a single bed and as long as I keep stuff to a minimum and stay on a site with facilities I can live in it quite comfortably. There are three photos on my previous post which will give you an idea of what it’s like 🙂

    Like

  14. You’re amazing, you fit more into one day than most people accomplish in a whole week of holiday 😀

    I love that tiny chapel, the inside looks to be a very peaceful place.

    Like

  15. The tiny chapel is a lovely little place, very plain, simple and peaceful, and it’s amazing that even in these modern times it’s still in use. As for how much I fit into one day, when I’ve only got two or three days to play with I don’t hang about 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment